A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide history of rampur

History of Rampur

It was said that, Rampur Bushahr is found to be one of the ancient Hill location, which was founded by Lord Krishna's son called Pradhuman, the son of Lord Krishna. But, as per the opinion or research done by C. F. Kennedy, Rana Danbar Singh founde the Rampur town in the year 1412. Some other rulers of this Rampur Bushhr are the Raja Chatar Singh, Raja Kalyan Singh, Raja Kehri Singh, Raja Vijay Singh, Raja Udai Singh (1761-1785), Raja Ugar Singh (1785-1803) and Raja Ram Singh (1725-1761).

Later, the ruling continued by Raja Narain Singh, Raja Mahendra Singh (1815-1850), Raja Shemsher Singh (1850-1887 and 1898-1914), Tikka Raghunath Singh, Raja Raghunath Singh (1887-1898), Raja Padam Singh (1914-1947), Devinder Singh, Ranbir Singh, Jagatjit Singh, Kanwar Raj Pal Singh, Ravija Kumari, Vibha Kumari, Tikka Virabhadra Singh, Rajkumar Rajendra Singh, Kanwar Rajeshwar Singh, Prakram Singh, Kumari Rajanandini Kumari and Kumari Purnima Kumari, Kumari Namrata Kumari, Rajkumari Abhilasha Kumari, Raghavendra Sinh Gohil, Rajkumari Anuradha Kumari, Rajkumari Meenakshi Kumari, Rajkumari Aprajita Kumari, Tikka Vikram Aditya Singh and so on...

The Rulers of Rampur Bushahr

The king called Raja Ram Singh made the Rampur as the capital of Bushahr, but he was defeated by the Raja of Kullu and lost many territories like Seraj of Bushahr, etc. Again, during the rule of Raja Rudra Singh, Bushair lost more territories. And Raja Ugar Singh made successful attacks against all the opposition parties, and gain all the lost territories back.

Rampur History

The Raja Chatar Singh, a Rajput ruler was a great upright ruler, who started to expand the territories of the Rampur. While, the King Kalyan Singh, the Raja Kehri Singh, as well as the Raja Vijay Singh and Uday Singh followed the Raja Chatar Singh. As per the historical records, Raja Kehri Singh was supposed to be a highly skilled warrior.

The Rule of Raja Kehri Singh

Raja Kehri Singh was one among the strongest rulers and had a great treaty with the Tibet Ruler. He said that, the Manasarovar (River) will not go dry till the color of the crows turn white. That means, crows color will not change and Manasarovar will not become dry. He also said that, Kailash will be the boundary or border line of Kinnaur and Tibet, until the snow of Kailash melt. That means, the snow will not melt and Kailash will be the border of these two places forever.

And few years later, Raja Kehri Singh died; and after his death, the Rampur Bushahr became the Gorkhas invasion.

The Rule of Gurkhas of Nepal

The Gurkhas made a strong attack over the Rampur Bushahr, looted everything and destroyed the wealth of the state. By this ways these Gurkhas of Nepal, extended their territories until the 18th century ends. Later, the Gurkha leader called 'Amar Singh Thapa' went up to Kangra valley to loot, but he got defeated by the powerful army of the King Ranjit Singh and Raja Sansar Chand of Kangra.

The Rule of British

Then, during the year 1809, the Britishers started capturing the regions like Satluj and Jamuna from the Gurkha leader Amar Singh Thapa and defeated him in 1815. After which, these territories were handed over to the Indian Government.

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries